Eastern Sierra Mammoth area help

In other words, north of, oh, Visalia
Big As A Mountain
Choose the middle number: 1

Eastern Sierra Mammoth area help

Postby Big As A Mountain » Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:00 pm

Hello,
I'm a newbie here, and I've read some really neat articles and posts. This is an awesome site. Thanks,

Ok...I need a little help. My buddy and I are going to head to the Mammoth are in a week or 2. We were thinking about fishing the San Joaquin, but it looks difficult to get at. I have a jeep that is rock ready, so 4x4 roads are not an issue, is it that difficult to get to? Then we thought about fishing Hot Creek, or Cottonwood creek, or...the upper Owens. Man...we just don't know where to fish. We both are used to fishing the western slope of the sierra and we catch little 6 or 7 inchers. I'd like to fish for some natural browns in a larger size. If any of you have fished the Mammoth area, could you point us in a good direction. We like to be out on a creek or stream where there aren't many fisherman. Any help or guidance would be deeply appreciated. Again thanks in advance. I'll keep posting and put our pics on here too after our trip!
Big T.

Rick

Postby Rick » Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:11 pm

www.sierradrifters.com/fish.html

This is a site that I found recently. It has some terrific photos and refrences many specific areas. Contact a fly shop in Bishop or Mammoth to get specifics for your trip. Sounds like a good time to be going though.

Rick

Big As A Mountain

Postby Big As A Mountain » Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:10 am

Rick,